It was all change over the last two laps with Tommy Bridewell fighting his way to the front to win the BSB sprint race on Saturday at Snetterton.

The race didn’t begin in Ducati’s favour. Polesitter Jason O’Halloran got the best start off the line with his teammate Tito Rabat in pursuit. 

Starting fourth, Bridewell initially slipped back to eighth, but worked his way into the race. A series of strong overtakes brought him further forward - his move on Rabat to hit the front three was incredibly aggressive but served it’s purpose - unfortunately it sent Rabat in the opposite direction.

The #46 continued his forceful run, running a wide confident line which saw him hug the grass at Brundles most laps. That saw him to the front of the race by lap seven, though he remained under constant pressure from the man he took over from, teammate Glenn Irwin, with Josh Brookes catching the duo.

As the penultimate lap began it was still unclear who would come out on top in the lead trio, with the run to the line on the final lap proving crucial.

It was Bridewell who put in the moves to be ahead before they reached Brundle as Irwin ran wide allowing him to hold on to lead over the line by 0.679s for his second win of the season, from Brookes who found his own way past Irwin.

The last lap saw O’Halloran rally and have the #2 bike, who had just been passed, in his sights. Seizing his opportunity, the Australian snatched away the final podium spot in the run to the line for McAMS Yamaha.

That left Irwin, who lead for much of the race, off the podium in fourth.

Christian Iddon made up the most places in the race to cross the line next in fifth for Oxford Products Ducati, a lonely solo run with the leaders out of sight and clear of the chasing pack.

Danny Kent was next to finish on his own Lovell Kent Honda bike, just shy of a seasons best finish after running as high as third in the early part of the race.

Lee Jackson was again the top Kawasaki in seventh for the Cheshire Holdings team, ahead Jack Kennedy in eight for Mar-Train Racing Yamaha and the battle for ninth.

British Superbikes Round Five - Snetterton - Race results (1)
1Tommy BridewellGBRBeerMonster Ducati21.42.695s
2Josh BrookesAUSFHO Racing BMW Motorrad+0.679s
3Jason O'HalloranAUSMcAMS Yamaha+1.136s
4Glenn IrwinGBRBeerMonster Ducati+1.192s
5Christian IddonGBROxford Products Ducati+4.607s
6Danny KentGBRLovell Kent Racing Honda+9.646s
7Lee JacksonGBRCheshire Mouldings Kawasaki+10.848s
8Jack KennedyIRLMar-Train Racing Yamaha+11.694s
9Charlie NesbittGBRMasterMac Honda by Hawk Racing+12.534s
10Tito RabatESPMcAMS Yamaha+12.936s
11Max CookGBRCheshire Mouldings Kawasaki+12.962s
12Tom NeaveGBRHonda Racing UK+15.257s
13Kyle RydeGBRLami OMG Racing Yamaha+18.933s
14Luke MosseyGBRTactix by Lloyd & Jones BMW+20.838s
15Dean HarrisonGBRDAO Racing Kawasaki+22.848s
16Storm StaceyGBRStarline Racing Kawasaki+23.117s
17Jack ScottGBRRapid CDH Racing Kawasaki+24.443s
18Josh OwensGBRCrendon Honda by Hawk Racing`+25.030s
19Franco BourneGBRHonda Racing UK+26.572s
20Peter HickmanGBRFHO Racing BMW Motorrad+27.918s
21Hector BarberaESPTAG Racing Honda+35.251s
22Liam DelvesGBRRapid CDH Racing Kawasaki+35.644s
23Ryan VickersGBRLami OMG Racing YamahaDNS
24Leon HaslamGBRRokit BMW Motorrad TeamDNF
25Danny BuchanGBRSynetiq BMW MotorradDNF
26Bradley PerieGBRLee Hardy Racing KawasakiDNF

Rabat secures top ten finish after contact

After a brilliant qualifying on his first time around Snetterton saw Rabat line up on the front row, the Spaniard kept up his good performance in the early laps of the race, but could not recover from the incident with Bridewell at the end of lap three.

Lucky to stay on at all as the Ducati front wheel connected with his rear the #53 survived a run across the grass but lost drive - losing a handful of places at once and starting the next lap seventh.

Fighting in the next group, the Spaniard held on to a top ten finish for the McAMS Yamaha team, crossing the line in a close battle with Charlie Nesbitt (MasterMac Honda by Hawk Racing) just ahead in ninth and Max Cook (Cheshire Mouldings Kawasaki) behind in eleventh.

Tom Neave was twelfth for Honda Racing UK, while Kyle Ryde continued to struggle in 13th for LAMI OMG Yamaha and Luke Mossey (Tactix by Lloyd & Jones) picked up 14th .

The battle for the final point involved all the riders from 15th to 20th and was lead over the line by Dean Harrison (DAO Racing Kawasaki).

Superstock rider Franco Bourne was in the group on his debut with Honda, finishing 19th ahead of Peter Hickman in 20th, who remains all at sea at a track where he was a podium finisher last season.

Official British Superbike Snetterton Records:

Lap Record: Tarran Mackenzie (Yamaha) 1m 47.029s (2022)

2022 at Snetterton:

Round eight - pole: Christian Iddon (2ndKyle Ryde, 3rd Tommy Bridewell)

Race One: 
1:Bradley Ray
2:Tarran Mackenzie
3:Kyle Ryde

Race Two: 
1:Bradley Ray
2:Tarran Mackenzie
3:Tommy Bridewell

Race Three:
1:Bradley Ray
2:Peter Hickman
3:Tarran Mackenzie

Last Round - Knockhill:

Pole: Glenn Irwin (2nd Ryan Vickers, 3rd Jason O’Halloran)

Race One:
1:Glenn Irwin
2:Ryan Vickers
3:Jason O’Halloran

Race Two:
1: Kyle Ryde
2:Tommy Bridewell
3:Jason O’Halloran

Race Three 
1:Glenn Irwin
2:Tommy Bridewell
3:Ryan Vickers

Crashes and injuries

Bradley Perie was the first to exit after contact at the first corner. Danny Buchan also fell out of contention on lap four.

Leon Haslam had just put in an overtake on Tito Rabat when he was seen touring and slowing and was forced to retire.

Ryan Vickers also retired to the pits.

Where does that leave the championship?

Riding hard for the win paid off for Tommy Bridewell who extends his lead at the top from eight to seventeen points, with a total of 181 to his credit.

It is his teammate Glenn Irwin who is now closest to his total in second, on 164.

13th sees Kyle Ryde slip to third now 23 points behind Bridewell. Josh Brookes is closing him down - he moves on to 152 compared to Ryde’s 158.

Leon Haslam’s first DNF of the season sees him stay put on 136, with Jason O’Halloran still sixth on 112.